Taking back the TUTU

From the Ballet barre, to dress up parties with the little gay bro-ski, and now… back to the bar. The Tutu has come full circle and its arrival is not to be missed. I personally welcome her redefined style–her innocence, peeled away by wit and irony one ruffle at a time. The trophy of an art form known for discipline and impeccable movements and structure, will take a run on the wild side. I will not only hold her hand, but I will wear her tightly around my waiste. And whether I am asked to ‘plié’ or pop-a-squat over a grimy dive bar toilet, I will say “thank you” to ballet, for giving me this tutu and these thighs.

 

This Russian Red and Cream Tutu created by Marika Shishido of Shishido is now an integral part of the Mediumspicy design and production process.

Leave a Reply

